Raihan Saffron Journal

How Much Does Saffron Cost? 2026 Prices per Gram, Ounce and Pound

Quick answer: genuine saffron costs about $5 to $26 per gram at US retail in 2026. Lab-graded single-origin Super Negin, the grade serious cooks buy, runs $10 to $20 a gram; a 1-gram bottle is $15 to $22, a 5-gram bottle $45 to $65. That is roughly $140 to $570 an ounce and $2,300 to $9,000 a pound. Because a dish for four uses a 0.1 g pinch, the real cost is about $1 to $2 per dish. Anything under about $7 a gram without a published lab report should be treated as unproven. Prices below were read from twelve US sellers between 3 August and 1 September 2026.

What that means per pinch

A 3 g bottle of our lab-tested Afghan Super Negin is $45, about 30 pinches of 0.1 g, so roughly $1.50 per pinch and under 40 cents a serving when a pinch seasons a dish for four. About 250 whole threads per gram. Free U.S. shipping over $39; orders in by 4 PM ET ship the same day, Monday to Saturday.

Buy the 3 g bottle, $45Work out your cost per serving

Amount US retail range, 2026 Lab-graded Super Negin Raihan, report 004389
1 gram $5 – $26 $10 – $20 $20 (1 g) down to $9.90/g (10 g)
1 ounce (28.35 g) $140 – $740 $280 – $570 about $280 (20 g at $189 + 10 g at $99)
1 pound (453.6 g) $2,300 – $11,800 $4,500 – $9,000 about $3,600 at the 100 g price ($7.99/g)
1 kilogram $5,000 – $26,000 $6,000 – $12,000 wholesale $5,999 (1 kg wholesale bottle)
One dish for four (0.1 g) $0.50 – $2.60 $1 – $2 $0.99 – $2.00

Retail ranges come from the twelve-brand table further down; ounce and pound figures are the per-gram range multiplied out, since almost nobody sells saffron by the pound at retail. Looking for the brands rather than the prices? See the best saffron brands of 2026, ranked by lab data.

The lot in the bottle

Everything below is written by a saffron seller, so here is the evidence first. Our current lot carries Herat government laboratory report 004389: crocin 296.5, picrocrocin 114.2, safranal 32.7. That is ISO 3632 Category I on every tested parameter. About 250 all-red threads to the gram, hand-packed in Lynn, Massachusetts.

Read the full lab report · 3 g bottle, $45, about 30 dishes

Saffron price index

What 12 US brands charge per gram

Shelf prices read directly from each seller between 3 August and 1 September 2026. Per-gram figures are the listed price divided by the stated weight, at the size shown. Saffron prices move with the harvest, so treat this as a snapshot, not a quote.

Brand Origin as stated Size read Price Per gram Lab report published
Raihan Saffron Herat, Afghanistan 3 g $45.00 $15.00 Yes, report 004389
Raihan Saffron Herat, Afghanistan 10 g $99.00 $9.90 Yes, report 004389
Diaspora Co. Kashmir, India 1 g $22.00 $22.00 No, named farm instead
Rumi Spice Afghanistan 1 g $15.99 $15.99 No
Mehr Saffron Not stated 1 g $13.95 $13.95 No, ISO claimed without a certificate
Heray Spice Herat, Afghanistan 1 g $11.99 $11.99 Partial
Sadaf Not stated 1 g $10.99 $10.99 No
Slofoodgroup Afghanistan 1 g $10.99 $10.99 No
Burlap & Barrel Herat, Afghanistan 4 g $39.99 $10.00 No
Golden Saffron Afghanistan and Spain 5 g $34.95 $6.99 Yes, Eurofins, 2020 harvest
Zaran Saffron Persian and Spanish lines 5 g $35.00 $7.00 Yes, Certified Laboratories, July 2025
Vanilla Bean Kings Super Negin, origin not stated 5 g $29.99 $6.00 No
Spirit of Art Super Negin, origin not stated 5 g $23.96 $4.79 No

How to read this. The spread runs from about $4.79 to $22.00 a gram for saffron that is described in nearly the same words. Origin, grade and packaging explain part of it. The rest is whether anyone has measured what is in the jar. Not every seller in this table publishes a laboratory report, which is the reason we publish ours rather than describe it.

The line we will not cross. Below roughly $7 a gram at retail, the arithmetic of growing, hand-picking and hand-sorting saffron stops working. That does not make every cheaper listing fake, but it is the point at which we would want a lab report before buying, and most sellers below that line do not have one.

Prices read from each seller's own storefront between 3 August and 1 September 2026 and rounded to the cent. Sizes differ between brands, so the per-gram column is the only fair comparison. If a price here is out of date, tell us at hello@raihansaffron.com and we will correct the row.

Cost-per-dish calculator

What a dish of saffron actually costs

Pick the dish and the number of people. The calculator returns the threads and grams you need, and what that costs from each bottle size, using our own count of about 250 threads to the gram.

Bottle Price Per gram This dish Dishes per bottle

Amounts are the ones we use in our own kitchen: a 0.1 g pinch for a rice dish that serves four, a quarter gram for a pan of paella, about four threads for a cup of tea. Saffron is bloomed in warm liquid for ten minutes, not sprinkled dry, which is why so little goes so far.

Saffron price, per gram

What saffron actually costs.

Between $9.90 and $20.00 per gram — the same lab-certified ISO 3632 Category I Afghan super negin threads in every bottle. No sale banners. No crossed-out prices. Just the arithmetic, in daylight.

Shop the 3g Bottle — $45 →

Free U.S. shipping on orders $39+ · flat $6.95 below that · 30-day money-back

Grown in Herat, Afghanistan — packed by founder Amrudin Qutubzad in Lynn, Massachusetts. First order? Code WELCOME10 takes 10% off.

ISO 3632 laboratory report card for Raihan Saffron showing Category I results

Lab report on file Crocin 296.5 · Picrocrocin 114.2 · Safranal 32.7

The complete price list

One grade in every bottle — ISO 3632 Category I. Only the arithmetic changes.

Size Bottle Per gram
1 gThe first taste $20 $20.00/g
2 gThe weeknight bottle $35 $17.50/g
3 gFirst bottle that ships free $45Ships free $15.00/g
5 gFor serious kitchens $65Ships free $13.00/g
10 gBest per-gram value $99Ships free $9.90/g

Also: Starter Kit (1 g + 2 g) $49 · Gift Set $119. The price is the price — we don’t mark up to mark down.

Full market breakdown below ↓

Genuine retail saffron costs roughly $5–$26 per gram in the US in 2026, depending on grade, origin, and how much documentation comes with it. Commodity and unbranded grocery saffron sits at the low end ($5–$10/g). Documented single-origin Super Negin runs about $10–$20/g — published ISO 3632 grading, a stamped harvest year, and direct import all cost real money to maintain. Verified Kashmiri Mongra sits highest. Below about $7/g with no lab report, treat the grade as unproven; below $2/g is almost always adulterated or fake.

How much is saffron, and why is it so expensive?

One acre yields about 8–10 lb of dried saffron in a good year. Every step is hand labor. A pound of saffron represents roughly 150,000 flowers and 40–70 hours of skilled work. The math sets the floor.

2026 price by grade (US retail per gram)

  • Super Negin (Afghan / Iranian), lab-graded single-origin: $10–$20
  • Negin (Afghan / Iranian): $5–$8
  • Sargol: $4–$7
  • Kashmiri Mongra (verified): $20–$26
  • Spanish Coupé / Mancha (verified): $5–$9
  • Under about $7/g with no lab report: unproven; under $2/g: not saffron

The spread inside a single grade is mostly a documentation spread. Unbranded Super Negin bought loose from a market stall can sit near $10/g; the same grade sold with a published ISO 3632 lab report, a stamped harvest year, and a traceable single-origin lot sits near the top of the band, because that paperwork is what proves the grade rather than asserting it.

Quantity discounts

Most legit sellers offer a small per-gram discount above 5 g and a larger one for wholesale. Raihan Saffron pricing:
– 1 g bottle: $20 ($20.00/g)
– 2 g bottle: $35 ($17.50/g)
– 3 g bottle: $45 ($15.00/g)
– 5 g bottle: $65 ($13.00/g)
– 10 g bottle: $99 ($9.90/g)
– Starter Kit (1 g + 2 g): $49
– Gift Box: $119
– Wholesale (10 g and above): contact us.

Why prices feel volatile

Saffron is an agricultural commodity. Weather (especially Herat rainfall) and currency fluctuation move wholesale prices 10–25% year-over-year. Geopolitics (sanctions, trade routes) shift channel availability. Retail prices smooth this out, but not always.

How to read "value per dish"

A 2 g bottle contains roughly enough saffron for 20–30 home dishes serving four – so the per-serving cost is $1–$2. Compared to a $30 truffle or $40 caviar gram, saffron is a cheap luxury.

Editor's note

Always convert to price per gram before comparing listings. Sellers who quote in ounces or "quarter ounce" tins are counting on you not doing the math — one ounce is 28.35 grams, so a $25 quarter-ounce works out to about $3.50/g, right at the edge of the credible range. If a listing gives no gram weight at all, move on.

Is saffron worth more than gold?

Not by weight anymore — gold trades far higher per gram in 2026 than even elite saffron ($20–$26/g). But saffron is still the world's most expensive spice by a wide margin, and for most of history — from Rome to the medieval spice routes — a pound of saffron genuinely did trade at or above the price of a pound of gold.

How much is saffron per ounce, per pound and per kilo?

One ounce is 28.35 grams, so retail saffron runs about $140–$740 an ounce, with lab-graded Super Negin at $280–$570. One pound is about 453 grams. At 2026 US retail prices of $5–$20 per gram, a pound of genuine saffron is worth roughly $2,300–$9,000 — and verified top grades such as Kashmiri Mongra can exceed that. That single pound represents about 150,000 hand-picked flowers, which is why nobody sane buys saffron by the pound for a home kitchen; a 2–5 g bottle covers a season of cooking.

FAQ

Q: How much is saffron? About $5–$26 per gram at US retail in 2026; lab-graded Super Negin is $10–$20 a gram, so a 1-gram bottle costs $15–$22 and seasons about ten dishes for four.
Q: How much is saffron per ounce? Roughly $140–$740, or $280–$570 for lab-graded Super Negin, since an ounce is 28.35 grams.
Q: How much is a pound of saffron? Roughly $2,300–$9,000 at retail per-gram prices; wholesale kilo pricing is lower, about $6 a gram for our 1 kg bottle.
Q: How much is saffron worth? By weight, less than gold today, but it is still the most expensive spice: $5–$26 a gram retail, and a single gram represents about 150 hand-picked flowers.
Q: Why is some saffron $30/g? Niche micro-batch Kashmiri or Spanish PDO sometimes hits that price. Outside those categories, it's a margin story.
Q: Why is some saffron $1/g? It isn't saffron, or it's heavily adulterated.
Q: Does saffron get cheaper at bulk? Yes, but only modestly — even at wholesale, hand labor is the cost floor.


Worried a low price means a fake? Run any listing through our interactive Is Your Saffron Real? checker and field guide before you buy.


Continue reading

Best Saffron Brands in the USA

Saffron Buying Mistakes

Saffron Crème Brûlée

Buying by the ounce, pound, or kilo? Bulk pricing works differently

Retail per-gram prices drop fast as bottle size grows — and bulk formats drop further. Our sealed bulk bottles run from 20 g at $189 ($9.45/g) through 50 g at $449 and 100 g at $799 to a 1 kg wholesale bottle at $6.00 per gram. For reference, one ounce ≈ 28.3 g and one pound ≈ 453.6 g. Restaurants and food businesses can browse the full wholesale & bulk collection.

From reading to tasting

Read enough? Taste it.

Everything in the journal comes back to the same bottles: single-lot Super Negin from Herat, lab-graded, hand-packed in Lynn.

ISO 3632 Category I on all tested parameters · Free U.S. shipping over $39 · 30-day money-back · Hand-packed in Lynn, MA

Raihan Saffron

Try the saffron we wrote about

Hand-picked in Herat, hand-packed in Massachusetts, sealed in a crystal-clear acrylic bottle and ready to ship.